HomeHow ToHow to delete a Hotmail, Windows Live and Outlook account

How to delete a Hotmail, Windows Live and Outlook account

Hotmail

If you are struggling to delete a Hotmail, Windows Live or Outlook and you can't, then the following tips will be very useful.

Initially, there are several things to know about deleting these accounts.

Visit Microsoft Billing before closing or deleting account (Hotmail, Windows Live, and Outlook.com accounts). If a subscription is active, it will prevent you from permanently closing your account.

See also: Hotmail: How to protect yourself from hackers?

Hotmail, Windows Live, and Outlook.com accounts are not considered “Microsoft Accounts.” You cannot close just the Hotmail account without closing your entire Windows Live or Microsoft Account.

Remember to spend any Skype credit before closing your account. Any credits will be lost once you close your account.

Check your Microsoft and Xbox account balance here. You can also remove any credit cards from account on this page.

It takes 60 days to close the email after submitting the application.

See also: Microsoft account: 7 essential security tips

After you close an account, it should stop accepting new emails.

Interestingly, even after 365 days of inactivity, your Windows Live ID and password will still exist on the server, unless someone attempts to register a new account using your exact Live ID.

Step 1

Sign in to Hotmail, Windows Live, or Outlook.com. This will redirect you to the new Outlook.com interface. Once signed in, go to https://account.microsoft.com/ to manage your account settings

Step 2

From the Microsoft Account page, click Security. At the bottom of the new page, click More Security Options. Scroll down to the bottom of the account and click the Close my account link.

Step 3

In this final step, Microsoft will let you know about all the things you need to do first before closing your account.

See also: Do ​​you have a Gmail or Hotmail account? Microsoft warns about this scam

Step 4

Even after closing all my account registrations, Microsoft doesn't allow some accounts. So if the above steps don't work for you, which is likely, you'll need to click here to go directly to the account closure confirmation page.

Microsoft will ask you to verify identity and then inform you of what you already know. It will take 60 days for the account.

If you want your account back, all you have to do is log in and the entire deletion process is canceled.

📧
Subscribe to the SecNews Newsletter

The most important Security & Technology news in your Inbox.

Absentee Mia
Absentee Miahttps://www.secnews.gr/politiki-syntaxis/
Member of the Editorial Team of SecNews. He writes about cybersecurity, online fraud, privacy and technology. All articles follow the SecNews Editorial Policy.

SEARCH

FOLLOW US

📧
Newsletter SecNews
The most important Security & Technology news in your inbox.

LIVE NEWS