Google has introduced a small but very useful change to Photos on the web. In the info section for each photo, there’s a new category called “Backed up” after the current day/date, location, device, EXIF, and image size. It shows whether the file was saved in “Original quality” or “Storage saver” and how much space it’s taking up.
See also: Google and Oracle: UK heatwave causes cloud outages

This will be especially informative for users on Google’s free tiers following the storage policy changes that went into effect on June 1, 2021, which ended unlimited free photo storage. This will allow you to manage your photos on a more granular basis , whether you need to free up space or simply check the quality at a glance. This is on top of the current “Manage storage” feature that provides an overview and management of your cloud storage .
See also: Russia: Google fined for banned content

See also: How to change your home address on Google Maps
Oddly enough, like the “Uploaded from” and “Shared by” information, the “Backed up” information isn’t available in the Android or iOS — only on the web. The feature has started appearing on some accounts, but hasn’t rolled out widely.
Information source: engadget.com
