For a long time, when developers wanted to increase subscription prices for iOS apps offered through the App Store, users would receive a push to agree to the price increase, otherwise subscriptions would automatically stop. This behavior is fair to both developers and users. The former charges more for whatever reason, and the latter decides whether the higher cost is worth it. Unfortunately, however, Apple now allows developers to increase subscription prices without user confirmation.
See also: App Store/Play Store: Thousands of apps haven't received updates in years

Apple has announced that it will now allow developers to increase their subscription prices without having to ask users. Before this change, a subscription would stop if a user ignored the upgraded pricing prompt. Now, if a user ignores it, they will automatically start paying the higher fee without first consenting in any way.
Currently, when the price of an auto-renewable subscription increases, subscribers must opt in before the price increase is applied. The subscription does not renew in the next billing period for subscribers who did not opt in to the new price. This has resulted in some services being unintended for users, and they must take steps to re-enroll in the app, from Settings on iPhone and iPad or the App Store on Mac.
See also: How to unhide apps on iPhone

The company claims that the initial prompt caused unintended service when users weren't paying attention. This just goes to show that even though Apple will notify users before automated price increases, many of them are likely not seeing those notifications. As a result, they'll end up paying more without even realizing it.
The circumstances will certainly make it difficult for scam apps to increase their prices frequently. However, it is still not a foolproof method and this whole change is certainly not the best for users.
See also: Apps with hidden data-collecting software are blocked by Google
Ultimately, Apple takes a significant cut of each subscription, so it's in the company's best interest to have more users pay extra through this new policy. However, users will be notified via iOS, iPadOS, and macOS apps, email, and push notifications.
