HomeSecurityFacebook: You can now unsend a message on Messenger!

Facebook: You can now unsend a message on Messenger!

Facebook: Made a typo? Realized you said something stupid? Said something annoying? Were you browsing an old conversation and accidentally sent a thump up? Don't worry, you can delete that message on Facebook, but you have to do it quickly!

Under the “What's New” section in Messenger on the Apple App Store, you'll find a “Coming soon” section that hints at the arrival of a new feature.

Facebook

So what is this new feature?

You can remove a message from the chat after it's been sent. If you send the wrong photo, an invalid message, or a screenshot to the wrong person (we've all done it), you can easily fix it by removing the message within ten minutes of sending it.

But you have to notice the mistake quickly enough to permanently delete it from the social media world . That time limit seems unexpectedly short, however, considering that the company gives WhatsApp users up to an hour to delete a photo.

The feature was first announced in April, followed by testing until October. When Messenger version 191.0 is released, an option will appear for 10 minutes above the “Delete Message” message that says “Unsend Message.”

If the ten minutes pass, then, I'm sorry, the damage has been done. Good luck…

📧
Subscribe to the SecNews Newsletter

The most important Security & Technology news in your Inbox.

SEARCH

FOLLOW US

📧
Newsletter SecNews
The most important Security & Technology news in your inbox.

LIVE NEWS