Many citizens believed that they may have fallen victim to hackers, however, the company had announced that it would take this step many months ago.
In recent days, more and more Facebook have been seeing their pages on the well-known social networking site "blocked" and a message from the company asking them to "upload" their identity information in order to log in and have their account restored.
Initially, many citizens expressed their concern about this strange move through blogs and other social media, while many believed that they may have fallen victim to hackers.

However, the truth is that these requests are considered legitimate and that about a year ago the company announced that it would take this step in order to ensure that the profiles correspond to real users.
In this way, the service wants to ensure that users do not violate the terms of use and that they use their real details. It also wants to delete the thousands of fake accounts that exist on the website.
"Send us a copy of a photo ID so we can verify your name," is the message that appears to many citizens on Facebook , urging its users to read its policy regarding IDs.
However, most Facebook users express their indignation at the fact that they have to "upload" their personal information on the Internet, since, among other things, they have to post an ID photo!
However, the company urges citizens to somehow cover up unnecessary information during the process, as Facebook "only" asks for the user's real name, photo, and date of birth!
It is noted that Instagram is also following a similar process..
Source: protothema.gr


