HomeHow ToHow to permanently delete your Facebook account

How to permanently delete your Facebook account

accountThere comes a time when we may decide that we no longer want our Facebook. Most people know how to deactivate their account, but it is also possible to permanently delete your Facebook account. But make sure you download a copy of your data before deleting your account. Getting started:

Back up your Facebook data

Before you permanently leave Facebook, you should back up your data in case you need it later.

  1. Go to Settings.
  2. While on the General, click Download a copy of your Facebook data.
  3. Click Start My Archive.
  4. Enter your Facebook account password and click Submit.
  5. Click Start My Archive in the “Request My Download” box.

Facebook will then collect all your data and send the copy to your registered email address.

How to deactivate your Facebook account?

Here are the steps to deactivate your Facebook account:

  1. Go to Settings.
  2. Click the General in the left pane. Previously, the option to deactivate your Facebook account was on the Security (now under Security and Login).
  3. Click Manage Account on the screen. Then click Deactivate your account.

How to permanently delete Facebook account?

One thing that most users want to know is how to permanently delete Facebook account. To achieve this, follow the steps below:

  1. Log in to your Facebook account.
  2. Visit this link, https://www.facebook.com/help/delete_account
  3. Click Delete My Account.
  4. Then follow the instructions given to you.

Important things to consider before closing your Facebook account

Make sure you download a copy of your Facebook data before you deactivate or permanently delete it. You may know that you can regain access to your Facebook account after deactivating it. But be careful, you won't have a chance to change your mind after you permanently delete your Facebook account. So make your decision wisely.

It will take 90 days for Facebook to delete all your photos, videos, posts, comments, messages, and everything else. Other Facebook users will not be able to visit your profile during the deletion process. However, text messages, images you have sent to your friends via chat, will still appear to them because they are part of their account. You can ask them to delete your messages.

📧
Subscribe to the SecNews Newsletter

The most important Security & Technology news in your Inbox.

Absentee Mia
Absentee Miahttps://www.secnews.gr/politiki-syntaxis/
Member of the Editorial Team of SecNews. He writes about cybersecurity, online fraud, privacy and technology. All articles follow the SecNews Editorial Policy.

SEARCH

FOLLOW US

📧
Newsletter SecNews
The most important Security & Technology news in your inbox.

LIVE NEWS