Incognito mode, or incognito mode, is essentially a feature in browsers that allows users to hide their browsing history on the internet. Primarily, this feature serves to hide their history from people who may have physical access to their computers, rather than from ISPs and perhaps companies like Google.
The main idea behind the incognito mode is to avoid recording a user's history and to delete all types of cookies when the mode is closed.
YouTube's incognito mode was first announced earlier this year. It allows users to turn off their YouTube watch and search history, preventing inappropriate content from appearing in recommendations.
YouTube's incognito mode has started rolling out to Android devices. For iOS users, the feature has not yet been enabled.
How do you enable YouTube's incognito mode on your Android smartphone?
- Make sure you have installed the latest updated version of YouTube on your Android smartphone.
- To turn on YouTube's incognito mode, tap on your profile picture in the top right corner of the screen. Now, select "Turn on Incognito".
- A message will then appear informing you of what will happen if you disable it. YouTube Incognito Mode cannot hide your YouTube activity from your ISP.
How to turn off incognito mode on YouTube
To turn it off, tap the Incognito option in the top right corner and then select “Turn off incognito.”
Things you should know
While YouTube's incognito feature sounds great, it does have some drawbacks. For example, you can't access your subscriptions, YouTube chats, and notifications when the feature is active. This is because when the feature is enabled, you're signed out of your Google account.
Alternatively, you can individually disable YouTube Watch and View History in Settings to use the app normally.
