Facebook has changed the default privacy settings for new users so that posts and profile updates from any new account will only be visible to friends (and not publicly) by default .
Apparently, this change aims to protect privacy , as Facebook states in an official statement it issued:
"While many users want to post publicly, others have told us they feel more comfortable sharing their posts with a smaller group, such as just their friends. We recognize that it's much worse for someone to accidentally share their posts with the world when they meant to share them with just their friends, than the other way around," Facebook said.
This practically means that when a new member registers on the social network, the default display setting for their posts will no longer be "public", as it was until now, but will be set to "friends".
You can see the social network's full announcement here.

