WhatsApp is probably the messaging app that is widely used by most people. Meta is constantly updating the app to improve user experience and privacy. Last year, it added a new feature that allows users to lock a specific chat instead of the entire app. The addition of locked chats has been requested by WhatsApp users, and now Meta is moving forward with further improvements to the feature. We may soon see locked chats on connected devices.
See also: How to follow a WhatsApp Channel?

Last year, when WhatsApp added support for locked chats, users appreciated the move. However, support for the feature was limited to smartphones. If you use your account on WhatsApp Web or any other connected device, then anyone can access your conversations because those devices do not support locked chats.
However, it seems that WhatsApp has finally taken note of the issue and according to WABetaInfo, it is working on adding support for locked chats on connected devices as well. The feature is already available in WhatsApp Beta for Android V2.24.8.4. Since the company has already added the feature to the beta version, it is reasonable to expect it to be added to the stable version very soon.
See also: How to delete a WhatsApp Channel

To add locked chats to your connected devices, you will need to set up a passcode through your primary device. You can create the passcode directly from your device. When you add it to your connected devices, it automatically locks your selected devices.
In addition to locked chats, WhatsApp is working on a new feature that will allow users to mention a specific contact in their status. This will be very similar to Instagram, where you can mention a specific account.
See also: WhatsApp Web: Preparing a new dark operating environment
There is one big difference though. In the case of Instagram, if you mention someone, the rest of your account's followers will still see the stories. However, in the case of WhatsApp, the status will only be visible to the mentioned contacts. Additionally, the mentioned person will receive a notification every time you mention them.
Source: androidheadlines
