HomeHow ToHow to share an AirTag with other users?

How to share an AirTag with other users?

Apple AirTags are incredibly useful for finding personal items, and they become even more useful when you share them with other iPhone users. The process is very easy.

share AirTag sharing

AirTag sharing is a feature Apple offers that lets you share the location of your personal items with others. This is especially useful for families and groups who want to locate shared items, like car keys.

Share AirTags using Find My

AirTag sharing was officially added with iOS 17 for the iPhone. To use the AirTag sharing feature, both parties must be running iOS 17 or later on a compatible device.

See also: Google implements anti-stalking measures for AirTag

First, you need to keep in mind that in order to share an AirTag, you must be its owner. This means you must have set up the AirTag and connected it to your own iPhone first.

  • To get started, open the app Find My on your iPhone and tap on the “Items” tab.
  • Find the AirTag you want to share and tap on it.
  • Then, scroll down until you see the “Share This AirTag” option. Tap the “Add Person” button.
  • In the next step, a pop-up will appear warning you that sharing your AirTag will allow others to track its location. However, the person you share your AirTag with will not receive tracking.
  • Click “Continue” to ignore this warning and continue.
  • To start sharing, type a name in the “To” field and then tap “Share.” The other party will receive a notification that the AirTag has been shared and will be informed of the process.

Once the process is complete, the AirTag is shared and can be found by both parties. You can repeat the steps for as many AirTags as you want to share.

You can share an AirTag with up to five other users.

See also: AirTag "saved" a dog that was swept away by a flood

AirTag sharing

How to stop AirTag sharing

As an AirTag owner, you have the ability to stop sharing an AirTag at any time. To do this, open the Find My app and tap the “ Items ” tab to locate the AirTag you previously shared. Tap on it and scroll down. You’ll see a “ Stop Sharing ” button . Tap on it.

See also: Your ex can track you with Airtag!

Tracking Notifications are muted for shared users

AirTag sharing is one of the most useful additions to iOS 17, but there are a few things you should keep in mind, especially if you're the person accepting the sharing request. You won't see tracking if you've been added as a shared user, which means other people can see your location.

Source: www.howtogeek.com

📧
Subscribe to the SecNews Newsletter

The most important Security & Technology news in your Inbox.

Digital Fortress
Digital Fortresshttps://www.secnews.gr/politiki-syntaxis/
Member of the SecNews Editorial Team. Covers software vulnerabilities, data breaches, cyberattacks and technology developments. All articles follow the SecNews Editorial Policy.

SEARCH

FOLLOW US

📧
Newsletter SecNews
The most important Security & Technology news in your inbox.

LIVE NEWS