If you want to keep your family and friends updated on your location, you can use the Google Maps app for Android and do it without much hassle. This app lets you share your location in real time with both Google and non-Google account holders. We'll show you how.
When you share your location, you can choose how long you want to do so. You can also manually stop sharing your location by tapping a quick option in the app.
See also: Signal Android: Will end support for SMS messages

Google Maps shares other information with your location
When you start sharing your location, Google Maps shares your name, photo, and location in real time.
Shared details can include where you've been recently, whether you're driving or walking, and even phone information, like your battery charge.
You should know these details before sharing your location with others.
See also: Parental Controls on Android: How to Set It Up?
Share your live location using Google Maps on Android
To share your current location, launch the Google Maps app on your Android phone. Then, in the top right corner of the app, tap your profile picture.

From the menu that opens, select “Location Sharing”.

You will see the location sharing page. Here, tap “Share Location.”

You will now see a “Share Your Real-Time Location” section. In this section, choose how long you want to share your location.
If you only want to share for a short period of time, select the “For 1 Hour” option.
See also: Top free photo editing apps for Android
If you want to continue sharing your location until you manually turn it off, select the “Until You Turn This Off” option.

To share your location with a Google contact, tap that contact on your screen.

After selecting a contact, tap “Share” to start sharing your location. The recipient will need to launch Google Maps on their phone to see your location.

To stop sharing your location, tap your contact's name and select “Stop.”

If you want to share your location with someone who is not in your contacts, select one of the many apps displayed to use for location sharing.
You can get a shareable link for your location, which you can give to others via any medium you prefer. For example, you can share the link via text message or a chat app.
To get this link, simply click the “Copy To” option.

Your loved ones will now be able to see exactly where you are on the map. They will see your live location even if you stop using the Google Maps.
Information source: howtogeek.com
