HomeUpdatesFacebook: Direct export of posts to Google Docs and WordPress

Facebook: Direct export of posts to Google Docs and WordPress

Yesterday, Facebook announced some new data portability options that let you take the content you've published on the social network to platforms built for writing. Specifically, Facebook has built in an option to transfer your posts and notes to Google Docs, as well as two popular blogging platforms, WordPress.com and Blogger.

Facebook Google Docs and WordPress

Facebook already offers options to export your data to your local hard drive. This is great if you just want to back up your content. However, it can take a while to export that content and republish it to a blog or document to restore it. Now, with the ability to transfer posts and notes to a new platform, you can move your files to a new public platform quickly and efficiently.

See also: Facebook partners with Spotify to bring podcasts to its app

Facebook announced in 2019 that it was working on new ways to support data portability across platforms and other services. The giant company kicked off its commitment to data portability by giving users the ability to transfer photos and videos directly to storage platforms like Backblaze, Dropbox, Google Photos, and Koofr.

See also: Facebook: Kills third-party apps Swipe and Simple Social

As of April 19, Facebook users can export their posts and notes to Google Docs, WordPress.com, and Blogger.

To start the process, you just need to go to the “Your Facebook Information” section in Settings. After that, click on “Transfer Your Information,” enter your password, and then select the type of data and service you want to transfer it to. From there, you just need to enter the password of the service you are transferring to, and then click on “Confirm Transfer.”.

See also: Facebook: Coding bug allowed attackers to delete live videos

There are some important caveats regarding what will be transferred. For example, posts that include photos and videos will be transferred with the media content. However, only content that is visible on the user's profile and uploaded by the user requesting the transfer will be moved. Content that a user posts to a friend's profile will not be transferred. Content uploaded by a friend, even if the user requesting the transfer is tagged, will not be moved with the rest of the data.

However, the option to transfer photos, videos, and now written content to another service is a welcome move for those considering deleting their Facebook account and moving away from the platform once and for all.

Information source: mashable.com

📧
Subscribe to the SecNews Newsletter

The most important Security & Technology news in your Inbox.

Teo Ehc
Teo Ehchttps://www.secnews.gr
Be the limited edition.

SEARCH

FOLLOW US

📧
Newsletter SecNews
The most important Security & Technology news in your inbox.

LIVE NEWS