
Chrome 's well-known feature that keeps web browsing anonymous, called Incognito, is now coming to more Google Maps users .
Specifically, starting Monday, iPhone users can use Google 's navigation app without worrying that their activity may be tracked. Android users have had this feature since October.
Now that Incognito is available on iOS, users will be able to choose how much of their information is saved about the places they've searched or visited. To enable Incognito mode, simply click on your profile photo in the top right corner of the app, where you can toggle the feature on and off.
The new Incognito option for Google Maps was introduced by Google last May at the company's I/O conference. When disabled, the app will remove any personalization, such as restaurant suggestions, that are based on other places you've visited. It will also delete your location history, so you won't be able to find places you've been.
Another feature that’s also coming soon is the ability to bulk delete in Timeline. For those who don’t know, Timeline uses your Location History to display a map of the locations you’ve been to. You’ll find it in the three-parallel-line icon to the left of the search bar. If you have location turned off when you’re not using the app, your Timeline will display “No locations found.” However, if you have it turned on, you’ll now be able to delete some or all of the locations you’ve visited instead of doing it individually.
Like most Google tools, this feature will first roll out to Android users next year. At some point, of course, it will also be available to iPhone users.
