Facebook itself to notify all 87 million victims of the Cambridge Analytica scandal whose data may have been leaked, by creating a link at the top of users' News Feeds.
Starting April 9th, users will be able to see a link titled “Protecting Your Information” in their News Feed. Through this link, you will be able to learn which apps are connected to your Facebook Feed, as well as what information you have shared with those apps.
In case you no longer use an app or want to stop sharing data with it, Facebook will give you the option to disable those apps and completely remove third-party access.
Additionally, users whose data was leaked to Cambridge Analytica will receive an additional notification from the company. There are three versions of the messages sent to Facebook users based on whether their data was compromised by the “This Is Your Digital Life” app.
In the event of a data leak caused by direct connection to the “This Is Your Digital Life” application, the following message will be displayed to the user:
If a user's data is leaked because of a friend who connected to the app, this message will appear, as shown below. It states that you have shared your basic information, such as your public profile, likes, dates of birth, etc.:
For users whose data remains intact, Facebook will send the following message along with the new privacy control settings:
But even though Facebook is taking corrective measures, many people still feel unsafe on the platform and are closing their accounts as new details about the data breach come to light every day. If you feel the same way, you can permanently delete your account.



