HomeSecurityYahoo! Hacked! Again! warning to users

Yahoo! Hacked! Again! warning to users

Users who insist on maintaining their Yahoo account should pay particular attention to the following news. Yahoo has once again informed its users that their accounts may have been compromised by hackers believed to have used fake cookies instead of passwords.Yahoo

The issue was uncovered in the November 2016 SEC filing, but considering the scale of the violations the company disclosed in September and December, which affected the first 500 million accounts and the second 1 billion accounts, the matter went largely unnoticed.

“Based on the ongoing research, we believe that a fake cookie may have been used in 2015 or 2016 to gain access to your account. We believe that the same parties responsible for the cookie activity are the ones who carried out the data theft that was disclosed on September 22, 2016,” says today's Yahoo warning for its service users

According to the company, the security gap that allowed the use of fake cookies has been fixed, and Yahoo's systems have been further secured so that users are safe from similar attacks. Of course, they also mentioned the recent breaches.

“The technical details of the fake cookie attacks are vague, but it appears that Yahoo had some serious problems with authentication and session management mechanisms. It is a good example of how a flaw in an application can cost millions. Yahoo certainly made the right decision to inform its users, however such a delay is not justified and is not excusable. It could trigger a collective lawsuit against Yahoo” said the CEO of the security company High-Tech Bridge Mr. Ilia Kolochenko to Softpedia.

If you are a Yahoo user and after all this you want to continue using the service, change your password immediately.

If you're tired of the company's constant notifications of violations, delete your account.
To delete your account, you should be able to find the appropriate link, which is very well hidden.

Yahoo will try to intimidate you by stating that your profile account is linked to your email and Yahoo Messenger.

Next, the company will tell you how deleting your account will cause you to lose all your data across the entire Yahoo network. Please note that deleting your account on Yahoo will result in the deletion of your account on Flickr as well, along with any photos you have stored there.

It takes about 90 days for your account to be completely deleted. The last thing you need to do is enter your password and the CAPTCHA to terminate your account.

The link to delete your account is below:
https://edit.yahoo.com/config/delete_user

📧
Subscribe to the SecNews Newsletter

The most important Security & Technology news in your Inbox.

SecNews
SecNewshttps://www.secnews.gr
In a world without fences and walls, who needs Gates and Windows

SEARCH

FOLLOW US

📧
Newsletter SecNews
The most important Security & Technology news in your inbox.

LIVE NEWS