Yahoo decided to disable Do Not Track on its sites, so they can provide the world “a highly personalized experience”.
To understand what this means, let's explain what Do Not Track is.
Do Not Track effectively blocks the well‑known web beacons (bugs, cookies, etc.), adding a button in the browser's address bar so that the site visitor can see them and block them at will. In most browsers it is included either by default or via an add‑on.
Of course, this does not mean that Do Not Track prevents user tracking or that the page consents.
Most websites use a form of “tracking” of the pages the user visits in order to suggest appropriate ads, as they claim.
This does not mean that a user's web history will remain on each advertising company's servers only, with the recent examples of eavesdropping and surveillance by the NSA, making the world more cautious.
Yahoo! so far has shown that it respects its site visitors, having Do Not Track enabled, but this has now changed as of April 30, as can be seen from its announcement.
Source: tro-ma-ktiko.blogspot.gr
