If you plug iPhone into someone else's laptop for a quick charge, you could be at risk. "Trustjacking" is a type of remote hacking, in which your device could be compromised remotely.
This new vulnerability exploits a WiFi feature that allows iOS device owners to manage their devices and access their data even when they are not in the same place.
How does Trustjacking work?
When iPhone users connect their device to someone else's computer's USB port, iOS asks them whether or not they trust the computer. It also warns that the computer will access their data if permission is granted.
By granting permission, the user allows the computer to communicate with the iOS device via the iTunes Wi-Fi Sync feature. While this feature is quite useful, Symantec researchers say it leaves your phone exposed to the computer in question.
This computer can be used to access photos, messages, sensitive data, add malicious apps, or even take control of the device, without asking for further authorization from the iPhone owner. Hence the name “trustjacking.”.
It is also worth noting that while the initial setup requires the device to be physically connected to the computer via the USB cable, the phone can subsequently be hacked even after it is disconnected, without its owner receiving any notification.
How to stop Trustjacking?
The only solution to stop trustjacking is to revoke access to all authorized laptops. Simply go to Settings, tap General , and find the Reset. Select Reset Location & Privacy and enter your passcode to remove authorization from all devices at once.
