Apple has stopped signing several iOS updates that were released earlier this week, preventing users from installing them even though they still appear in Software Update. The affected versions include iOS 12, iOS 15, iOS 16 , and iOS 18.
See also: iPhone 5s receives new software update 13 years later

On Monday, Apple released iOS 18.7.4, iOS 16.7.13, iOS 15.8.6 , and iOS 12.5.8 for older iPhone models, as well as iPadOS 15.8.6, iPadOS 16.7.3 , and iPadOS 18.7.4 for iPad models.
The updates were intended to keep essential system services running on devices that are no longer receiving major iOS releases, as well as fix an issue that prevented some devices from making emergency calls. Affected iPhone models include:
- – iPhone SE (1st generation)
- – iPhone SE (2nd generation)
- – iPhone 5s
- – iPhone 6 and iPhone 6 Plus
- – iPhone 6S and iPhone 6S Plus
- – iPhone 7 and iPhone 7 Plus
- – iPhone 8 and iPhone 8 Plus
- – iPhone X
- – iPhone XS and iPhone XS Max
- – iPhone XR
- – iPhone 11, iPhone 11 Pro, iPhone 11 Pro Max
- – iPhone 12, iPhone 12 mini, iPhone 12 Pro, iPhone 12 Pro Max
See also: iOS 26.3 adds privacy setting for location restriction

The following iPad models are also affected:
- – iPad mini 2
- – iPad mini 3
- – iPad Air
- – iPad Air 2
- – iPad mini 4
- – iPad Pro (9.7 inch)
- – iPad Pro (12.9-inch) (1st generation)
- – iPad (5th generation)
- – iPad (7th generation)
- – iPad (8th generation)
None of the updates address security vulnerabilities or introduce new features. According to Apple's release notes for the iOS 12 and iOS 15 updates, the main purpose is to replace an expired security certificate. Without this replacement, services like iMessage, FaceTime, and Apple Account Sign-in will stop working after January 2027, when the original certificate expires.
See also: Apple: Third Beta versions of iOS 26.3 and iPadOS 26.3 released to developers

Apple has not explained why it stopped signing updates. In the past, however, the company has prevented newly released iOS versions from being installed after bugs or other issues were discovered, and then typically re-enabled updates once revised versions became available.
