HomeinetMy Photo Stream: Warning to all iPhone users

My Photo Stream: Warning to all iPhone users

My Photo Stream will stop working next month, so some users may lose photosthat are important memories.

See also: iPhone: 10 tips to keep messages away from prying eyes
My Photo Stream

The service, which launched in 2011, was a precursor to iCloud Photo Library . It allowed users to transfer photos and videos from one device to another without using up iCloud storage space.

iCloud Photo Library has largely replaced the need to store photos on different devices. Now, all your photos and videos are easily synced across all your devices.

Apple announced that it will retire My Photo Stream on July 26. This means that any photos or videos that aren't backed up elsewhere will be deleted.

Writing in a blog post, the company said: “Uploads of new photos to My Photo Stream from your devices will stop on June 26, 2023. Any photos uploaded to the service before that date will remain in iCloud for 30 days from the date of upload and will be available on any of your devices where My Photo Stream is currently enabled.”

See also: Apple: Urgent iPhone update for millions of users

«Until July 26, 2023, there will be no photos in My Photo Stream and the service will be terminated.»

iPhone

This means that a photo uploaded on June 15 will be deleted after one month, on July 15.

Users who still have the device that was used to capture photos or videos still have access to their original library. However, they should take into account the lifespan of the My Photo Stream service, which is 13 years, and thus many may have upgraded.

"If a photo you want isn't already in your library on a particular iPhone, iPad , or Mac, make sure you have it saved to your library on that device," the company adds.

“Moving forward, iCloud Photos is the best way to keep the photos and videos you take up to date across all your devices and stored securely in iCloud. If you already have iCloud Photos turned on across all your devices, you don't need to do anything else — your photos are already synced to iCloud.“

See also: iPhone: How to print text messages?

To check, on your iPhone or iPad, go to Settings > your name > iCloud . On your Mac, choose Apple menu > System Preferences , click your name, then click iCloud. Make sure it says “ On ” next to Photos on each of your devices.

📧
Subscribe to the SecNews Newsletter

The most important Security & Technology news in your Inbox.

Absentee Mia
Absentee Miahttps://www.secnews.gr/politiki-syntaxis/
Member of the Editorial Team of SecNews. He writes about cybersecurity, online fraud, privacy and technology. All articles follow the SecNews Editorial Policy.

SEARCH

FOLLOW US

📧
Newsletter SecNews
The most important Security & Technology news in your inbox.

LIVE NEWS