Gmail: Sharing your password with others is a big exercise in trust. You might ask, why would you share your password with others?
A good example is a company email, where multiple people may need to monitor the inbox or be able to reply to a corporate account, say info@secnews.gr.
Below we will see how it is done using Gmail delegates. With this feature, you can grant someone access to your account without revealing your password.
You can add up to 10 people with a regular account and up to 25 with a school or work account.
Delegates can read, send, and delete messages in your Gmail account.
When an email is sent by a representative, their email address will also appear in the message.
Representatives can manage your Gmail contacts, but they can't change any of your settings, including your password. Of course, they can't chat with anyone on your behalf.
How to add authorized users to Gmail
Go to Settings > Accounts and Import.
In the Grant access to your account field, click Add another account.
Choose whether messages read by authorized users you add will be marked as read or not.
When prompted, enter the email address of the person you want to grant access to your account, then confirm that you want to share access with them.
Your representative will receive an email with a link that they must click within seven days of receiving the email or the link will expire.
Google says it will take about 30 minutes for the feature to kick in, after which your representative will be able to view and send emails on your behalf.
Watch the video below:
How to remove Delegate in Gmail
If you decide you no longer want someone to have access to your Gmail account, do the following:
From Settings > Accounts and Sign in.
In the Grant access to your account field, click Delete next to the email you want to remove.
Bonus: Gmail Add all your accounts into one!
