Security researchers are warning users about a new phishing scam circulating online that begins with the following message: “OMG YOUR PHOTOS ARE BEING USED ON THIS SITE.”
According to Malwarebytes experts, the malicious messages appear on the social networking platform Tumblr, and appear to come from a friend of the victim.
When users click on the link accompanying the messages, they are taken to a spammy Tumblr blog, where a piece of JavaScript code redirects them to a fake login page, similar to Facebook's. There, users must enter their credentials in order to view the supposed photos in which they appear.
The phishing website is no different from the real Facebook login page, but with a closer look at the URL in the browser's address bar, users can see that it has nothing to do with the social network.
As experts point out, such scams are common on Twitter, but as it turns out, no social media platform is ignored by cybercriminals.

