NameDrop is a new feature introduced in iOS 17.1 and watchOS 10.1. It lets you more easily share information with nearby iPhones and Apple Watchesby holding them together.

Despite its usefulness, if you wish to protect your privacy, you may be looking for ways to disable it.
While it's indeed convenient and useful – quickly sharing and retrieving contacts with friends should always be easy – there's also a risk that anyone who has your phone could simply keep it on iPhone and gain access to your contact information.
Read also: Police departments are spreading fake news about the NameDrop feature in iOS 17
If you're concerned about this, you can easily turn it off in your iPhone settings. It's important to note that NameDrop doesn't share information with anyone.
To disable NameDrop, open Settings on iPhone and go to General > Airdrop. There you’ll find some useful options to choose from. First, you can turn off Airdrop access entirely, allow everyone access for ten minutes, or choose to only receive Airdrops from contacts.
To disable NameDrop, you’ll need to look a little further down the list, under “Start sharing by.” There you’ll find a setting titled “Bringing Devices Together.” This setting turns NameDrop’s easy sharing feature on or off.

To disable NameDrop, turn off the “Bringing Devices Together” option. You can turn it back on at any time if you want to share something more easily. Even if you have NameDrop turned off, you can easily share contact cards using Airdrop. It’s also worth noting that NameDrop will only work with new contacts and cannot be used to update old contacts.
Source: bgr.com
