By default, WhatsApp allows any member to edit the name, description, and picture of a group chat. However, as an admin, if you don't want anyone to update these details without your approval, you can restrict this access by only allowing yourself to make changes.

Open the WhatsApp app on your iPhone or Android device. In the “Chats” tab, tap the name of your group chat.

Select your team's title at the top of the screen to visit profile .

Alternatively, you can long-press the group name in the “Chats” tab, tap the three- dot menu icon in the top right corner , and from the drop-down menu below, go to the “Group Info” section to view the group ’s profile page .

Go to the “Group Settings” section

Here, you can customize the type of permissions that administrators and participants have in a group.
Select the “Edit Group Info” option to specify which set of members can modify the basic details of the group.

In the pop-up window, switch to the option . Press the “OK” button to save the new setting.

Now, only admins can edit information and profile picture.
Once you implement this change, WhatsApp will notify group participants about it with a note in the chat. The option to edit the group chat will simply disappear from members' phones.

To restore the original settings, you can go to the same “Group Settings” menu and return to “All Participants” in the “Edit Group Info” pop-up window.
There are also other, similar perks that admins can take advantage of. For example, admins can revoke participants' ability to send messages in a group chat if, for example, they want to convey an important announcement and don't want it buried under other messages.
Information source: howtogeek.com
