HomeinetWindows 10: Hello sees you from your disabled camera

Windows 10: Hello sees you from your disabled camera

The revelations about Windows 10 privacy violations continue. While Microsoft has not issued an official press release to explain what capabilities its customers have, the new operating system continues to collect personal information.Windows 10 Hello

The new revelations concern the camera of devices that have Windows 10 installed. Microsoft gives users the ability to choose which applications can use their computer camera, suggesting that no one else can open the camera and see them when they are working on their computer without them knowing.

In fact, even if you disable the camera completely for all Windows 10 applications, the camera still works! The revelation came from a Reddit user (dioxol-5-yl) who wrote that it's not all that simple.

Microsoft has a very interesting reference in its privacy FAQ. In the FAQ, the company explains that even if your camera is turned off in Windows 10, the new biometric authentication feature called Windows Hello still uses it. So, even if you turn it off, it will still be enabled.

“If you choose to turn on Windows Hello, you will be able to use your camera even if the setting is turned off. If Windows Hello is turned off, it will not have access to the camera,” Microsoft says.

Many users naturally fear that the camera could be used to spy on them.

However, since Windows Hello is part of the operating system, it makes sense to somehow allow access to the camera for this application, which essentially offers biometric authentication.

Of course, Microsoft should inform users so that they are aware of this specific feature.

Reddit user therealhamster posted a very interesting story about the above: “The LED on my webcam would flash every time I booted up Windows 10 and it kept doing so until I turned it on the wall.”

If you want to control which apps have access to your camera, you can do so in Settings > Privacy > Camera. However, you won't find Windows Hello there. You'll have to disable it in Settings > Accounts > Sign-in Options.

📧
Subscribe to the SecNews Newsletter

The most important Security & Technology news in your Inbox.

SecNews
SecNewshttps://www.secnews.gr
In a world without fences and walls, who needs Gates and Windows

SEARCH

FOLLOW US

📧
Newsletter SecNews
The most important Security & Technology news in your inbox.

LIVE NEWS