Facebook recently increased the number of days it takes to permanently delete your account from its servers. Previously, the Facebook account deletion process took 14 days. Now, according to a company spokesperson who confirmed to The Verge, it will take 30 days.
This means you have a month to change your mind about leaving Facebook forever. If you choose to log back into your account, the social media platform will give you the option to withdraw your request to delete your account.
“We recently increased the grace period when you choose to delete your Facebook account from 14 to 30 days. We have seen people trying to log in to accounts they have chosen to delete after the 14-day period,” a spokesperson for the platform said.
The decision to extend the grace period simply means that users will be tempted to reconsider their decision to delete their account.
Many people chose to leave Facebook after the infamous Cambridge Analytica scandal last year. Even the co-founder of WhatsApp tweeted #DeleteFacebook and it soon became a trend on Twitter.
However, if you want to permanently delete your account, see here how you can do it.
