Scammers are spreading a Facebookcalled UnfriendAlert app that supposedly notifies users whenever one of their friends removes them from their friend list. In reality, the app collects users' credentials.
Curiosity killed the cat, they say, and by all accounts, we all want to know who is visiting our social media profiles. users Facebook who want to check who is visiting their profiles, who has unfriended them, who has spent time reading their posts, and much more.
Smart users are familiar with looking for plugins and apps that allow them to add new features to their new Facebook account, and scammers know this well!
Many scams in the past have exploited fake apps that promise to implement new features. This time we will be talking about a new free app that supposedly notifies users whenever someone has removed them from their friends. According to Malwarebytes researchers, scammers are spreading the UnfriendAlert app with the aim of stealing Facebook users' credentials.
The process by which the plan works is quite simple: in order to activate the additional features, Facebook users must activate the "unfriends monitoring" and the "alert service" by entering their Facebook credentials.
"The installer claims that the app will notify you every time one of your friends unfriends you on Facebook. Once you enable it, just sit back, you won't need to do anything else." I ran the program on Windows 7 and had to manually check if any of my friends had unfriended me. But if you enter your login credentials, which seems like a really bad idea in the first place, the program is able to see if any of your Facebook friends have decided to unfriend you," Malwarebytes experts wrote.
Once the victim submits their login credentials, the Facebook UnfriendAlert app will send them to the website “yougotunfriended.com” operated by the scammers. The researchers made this discovery by analyzing the traffic with Wireshark.
"Examining the Wireshark log we notice that the login credentials are not sent directly to Facebook but to 'yougotunfriended.com'"
If you have installed the Facebook UnfriendAlert app, uninstall it immediately and of course change your password.



