
Following last month's security breach by apps other than Snapchat, the official app has decided to notify users if their account has been found to be associated with unauthorized apps.
The measure aims to protect the end user from actions that may lead to the disclosure of private photos that are normally deleted through normal use of the Snapchat service.
Third-party apps should not have access to Snapchat accounts
The company promised better protection starting in October, which reassured Snapchat users.
To combat illegal activity and ensure the security of its users' content, the company has decided to issue notifications whenever other applications connect to the service. In fact, many times third-party applications require access to the user's account in order to connect to the service. The application now notifies the user and even suggests changing the password and stopping the third-party application.
In October, the Snapsaved.com server was hacked and material belonging to Snapchatters was stolen and illegally posted online. The incident was dubbed “The Snappening.”.
Ultimately, the 13 GB of personal photos and videos that were rumored to have leaked online were much less, as it later turned out, and did not contain nude photos of the users.
What the service offers, after all, is the transfer of files and their deletion from the database after a certain period of time, after the recipient has viewed them.
