Security researchers have identified a new phishing scam targeting Facebook users, aiming not only to steal their account login details, but also their emails.
The scam is based on sending spam emails containing links that lead to a fake Facebook page, where potential victims are informed that their social network account has been deactivated.
To "verify" their account details, users must fill in the email address they use to access Facebook, along with their password.
However, cybercriminals do not stop there, and request additional information, such as the access details of the email accounts , date of birth, security question and answer, as well as country of origin.
After receiving the above information, which is not required to reactivate an account, the scammers direct victims to another page requesting details about their payment cards, under the guise of purchasing FacebookCredits.
Malwarebytes says that Google has already blacklisted the phishing website, but access to it is not restricted by all web browsers and users may still fall victim to this scam.



