HomeHow ToOutlook: How to restore the inbox view to its default format?

Outlook: How to restore the inbox view to its default format?

Has the way your inbox view looks in Outlook? Are the email columns or other elements not the same as they used to be? Fortunately, you can reset them to the default view, so that all the elements of the application are exactly as they were when you first opened the application.

Outlook view

How to change the view in Outlook to the default view?

  • To restore the default Outlook view, open the application Outlook on computer . In the application ribbon at the top, select the “View” tab.
  • On the “View” tab, in the “Current View” section, select “Reset View”.
  • In the message that appears, select “Yes”.
  • The Outlook view has now changed and returned to the default.
  • If you want to make any other changes, you can also do it in the “View” tab, by clicking on the option under “Change View” and selecting one of the three options: “Compact”, “Single” and “Preview”.

See also: Microsoft investigates Outlook.com email search bug

How to reset Outlook to default view using a command

You can also reset the Outlook view using a command in the Windows Run dialog box.

To do this, open the “Run” dialog box using Windows+R. Type the following command and press Enter:

outlook.exe /cleanviews

After that, Outlook will use the default view.

Fix Outlook display issue by updating the app

When you're having problems with Outlook, including the changed view, it's worth checking that you're running the latest version of the application. Older versions often have many issues, which are resolved in newer versions.

  • To do this, in the top left corner of the application, select “File”.
  • In the left sidebar, select “Office Account.” In the right pane, select Update Options > Update Now.
  • Follow the on- screen and your Outlook app will update.

See also: Microsoft 365: After Outlook, Teams presents problems

Outlook: How to restore the inbox view to its default format?

Create a new profile

If you still can't return to the default Outlook view, profile in the application may be corrupted. A corrupted profile causes various problems.

To fix this, create a new profile in the app and add your email account to it. Since Outlook syncs all your emails with your email provider's cloud servers , you won't lose any data.

  • To get started, open Outlook and select File > Info > Account Settings > Manage Profiles.
  • Select “Show Profiles” and then “Add” to create a new profile. In the text box, type a name for your new profile and select “OK”.
  • In the “ Add Account ” window that opens, enter your email account details to add that account to your new profile.
  • Return to the “ Mail ” window , click the “ Always Use This Profile ” drop-down menu, and select the profile you recently created.
  • Then, select “Apply” and then “OK”.
  • Close and reopen Outlook and your problem will probably be resolved.

See also: Outlook: Microsoft announces a solution for service freezes

Outlook is an essential tool for professionals around the world, but sometimes, you may need to make some changes to have a better experience. By following the steps above, you can change the way things appear in the appto better suit your needs.

Source: www.howtogeek.com

📧
Subscribe to the SecNews Newsletter

The most important Security & Technology news in your Inbox.

Digital Fortress
Digital Fortresshttps://www.secnews.gr
Pursue Your Dreams & Live!

SEARCH

FOLLOW US

📧
Newsletter SecNews
The most important Security & Technology news in your inbox.

LIVE NEWS