HomeHow ToHow to Unsend and Edit Messages in iOS 16

How to Unsend and Edit Messages in iOS 16

Sending the right messages can be tricky sometimes. But with iOS 16, you can now unsend and edit your texts in Messages. Of course, there are a few caveats — including time limits — but these are still great features that are long overdue. Here's how to use them.

See also: iOS 16.0.2: Fixes camera issue and other bugs

iOS 16

If you're going to unsend a message, it's very important to remember that you only have a two-minute window to do so. Simply long-press on the message, tap Unsend , and you'll immediately see an animation where your message explodes into small pieces before disappearing completely.

While the other person may not see the text , both parties will see a notification that a message has been deleted in the message window. Those who sent a message will see a line that says “You sent a message.” Meanwhile, those who received the text will see a notification that says the sender’s name and “no message sent.”

See also: iOS 16 features enhance user security

But the feature will only work if both people are using iOS 16 on iPhones . If you unsend a message while texting someone using iOS 15, the text will disappear from your phone but will remain on the other person's device. You'll also get a notification that says "You didn't send a message. The message may still appear on devices where the software hasn't been updated."

How to Unsend and Edit Messages in iOS 16

To edit a message, long-press on the text and tap Edit. From there, a small text box will appear where you can rewrite the entire message or correct a typo. Once you’re done, tap on the blue check mark on the right and the edited message will appear. Whenever a text changes, you’ll see a blue “Edited” label below it. When you tap on it, it will display the entire history of edits (based on how many times it’s been edited) in chronological order.

See also: iOS 16: 4 iPhone models don't show battery percentage in the status bar

As with the Unsend message, it will only work if both you and the person you're messaging are using iOS 16. If someone is on iOS 15, they'll get a message that says "Edited to [insert new edited message]" below the original message.

It's worth noting that there is a time limit for editing messages. You'll have 15 minutes to edit a text, but you can only edit it five times in total. So choose your edits wisely.

📧
Subscribe to the SecNews Newsletter

The most important Security & Technology news in your Inbox.

Absentee Mia
Absentee Miahttps://www.secnews.gr
Being your self, in a world that constantly tries to change you, is your greatest achievement

SEARCH

FOLLOW US

📧
Newsletter SecNews
The most important Security & Technology news in your inbox.

LIVE NEWS