HomeHow ToSlack: How to disable the "Slack Connect" feature

Slack: How to disable the “Slack Connect” feature

Slack has added a new feature called “Slack Connect” that lets you exchange direct messages (DMs) or create shared channels with people who work outside your company. The company said in a statement: “Slack Connect is a new way for organizations to promote their businesses and communicate with their customers, partners, and vendors, as quickly and easily as they interact with their colleagues on the platform.

Read also: Slack: How to remove profile photos from your DMs

How does Slack Connect work?
When you log in to Slack, you’ll see a new “Slack Connect” section in the sidebar, which when tapped will bring up a screen where you can create a shared channel or exchange DMs with external users. As with other messaging apps, to send DMs, you first send an invitation to another user via your email address. If the user accepts the invitation, a new chat will appear, allowing you to communicate directly with them.

How to disable the "Slack Connect" feature
How to disable the “Slack Connect” feature

See also: 24 hours without social media, email, video games: $2,400 Challenge

This is a very useful feature, but it can also become annoying or even dangerous. Slack Connect may pose security risks, as it can be abused by spammers, aggressive marketers, and even hackers who will try to trick you into revealing company secrets.

Slack offers you a lot of configuration options, and you can disable this feature. To do this, click on your company name in the app, go to “Settings and administration,” and then “Workspace settings.

How to disable the "Slack Connect" feature
How to disable the “Slack Connect” feature

From here, select the “Permissions”.

How to disable the "Slack Connect" feature
How to disable the “Slack Connect” feature

You’ll now be able to either configure Slack Connect for channels by unchecking “Enable new shared channels”to disable all content, or by changing the default from “Everyone” to something more restrictive. This is clearly a feature that could be put to good use, but it’s best to leave it to admins to make decisions about sharing channels with other organizations.

Slack: How to disable the "Slack Connect" feature
How to disable the “Slack Connect” feature

Suggestion: Microsoft: "Beware! Phishing attacks bypass email gateways"

Scroll down and then uncheck “Enable file uploads and sharing” to prevent file sharing with other companies.

Then, uncheck “Enable Slack Connect for DMs” to disable the ability to send or receive messages from people outside your company.

Slack: How to disable the "Slack Connect" feature
How to disable the “Slack Connect” feature

You can also leave Slack Connect for instant messaging enabled, but only allow admins to use it if you want. However, this probably takes away most of the power of the feature.

📧
Subscribe to the SecNews Newsletter

The most important Security & Technology news in your Inbox.

SecNews
SecNewshttps://www.secnews.gr
In a world without fences and walls, who needs Gates and Windows

SEARCH

FOLLOW US

📧
Newsletter SecNews
The most important Security & Technology news in your inbox.

LIVE NEWS