Your Netflix is your personal space. The last thing you want is for someone to log into your account, see what you're watching, and get free access to the subscription you're paying for.
It's something that happens quite often. Sure, the easiest solution is to change your password, but that won't help you find out who might be sneaking into your account. Luckily, there's an easy way to find out.
Locating the freeloader
To catch someone red-handed, you first need to locate them. Log in to your account, select your username, and then select “Account” from the menu in the top right corner. Then, find the “View Activity” option.
While you’re on the “view activity” page, click on the “Recent account access” link. This will take you to a page that displays all sorts of information related to connections: date and time, location, IP address, and device types.
This way you will discover your own IP address with a simple search (you can literally do it by Google “my ip”). The address should be listed under the “Location” column on Netflix.
Then, check for strange locations or IP addresses that don't match yours. Try a service like ipinfo.
Finally, and this is probably the most obvious way to spot the strange situation, scan the “Device” column. Are there any strange entries? Does it perhaps contain a device you’ve never used? If so, someone else is likely on your account.
Keep your details hidden
It’s not always easy to tell if someone has been hacking into your account. That’s because Netflix allows you to manually delete your viewing history – one video at a time. To do this, simply navigate to the aforementioned “viewing activity” page. What you’ll see is a list of everything that has been watched by that profile . Next to each video is an “X” – once selected, Netflix informs you that the show/movie/whatever “will be removed from viewing activity across all devices within 24 hours.”
Someone who uses your account without you noticing will make sure to delete the videos they watched. This way, illegal views won't remain in your "Viewing Activity" section for you to eventually see.
Free yourself from prying eyes
But now, thanks to your newfound knowledge, even the most nefarious freeloaders won't be able to get past your watchful eye. And if someone does get access to your account? Change your password. And all the passwords you've ever shared with anyone.
