In recent days, it has become known that a virus is spreading rapidly on Facebook that is installed when the user clicks on a link, an address that supposedly refers to a video from a "friend" with a relevant reference from the recipient of the notification or message. Here's how to recognize if this is an attempt to infect your system with a virus.
Consider whether the reference was made to a post related to one of the major events of the day - locally or internationally.
History has recorded an upsurge in attacks, such as when it was announced that Osama bin Laden was dead ("see his body", "see the operation").
Another suspicious message is when you receive a notification that someone has tagged you in a photo or commented on one of your photos. Most of the time, according to the service, the person who added the tag is not someone you know, and yet, many were those who fell for the trap (obviously out of curiosity). Something similar has been recorded in the past on Twitter.
But there are also cases where it is reported that a “friend you know” on Facebook did something like this. If you click on the link, you will see that you are redirected to a blank page. Many assume that the address on the link was simply incorrect. In reality, clicking on the link allowed the virus to be installed and spread it by sending the same malicious message to your friends. If they click on it in turn, their system is infected.
The social media safety method is caution . Before clicking on a link, look for where it comes from. Does it remind you of the way that friend in question shares something on Facebook? If not, don't click. If you can't tell for sure, then hover your mouse cursor over the invisible link (the blue reference with the text) and look in the lower left corner of your browser . There, you will see the address (URL) it takes you to before clicking. If you don't see a trusted destination in the URL, don't click.
Kaspersky Lab also points out that the number of fake Facebook pages (i.e., referring to facebook.com) through which attempts are made to obtain login details for the service in the first quarter of 2014 alone represented more than 10% of all phishing operations.
- It is also noted that the service uses secure https for data transmission, which you should look for in the URLs referred to in the notifications or messages you receive in your Inbox.
The service also describes addresses with the .info, although there is no other documentation other than recorded incidents.
RSS Technology
