The information came to us via an email that landed in the iGuRu.gr mailbox. We decided to investigate and publish it. While the message appears to have been sent from a Bank domain, the link included in the message leads to a website that uses the WordPress platform.
The sender used the e-mail: PiraeusBank . The domain piraeusbank.com appears to belong to Piraeus Bank since it redirects to piraeusbank.gr. Below is evidence that the domain actually belongs to the Bank.
DNS records for piraeusbank.com
DNS servers
ns2.otenet.gr [195.170.2.1] ns1.otenet.gr [195.170.0.2]
Now look at the message which is written in Greek.
We tried to move on to connect to the website the email was referring to. When Chrome disagreed and we decided to leave it at that.
But let's see what happened. The scammer or scammers used an online service that sends emails from any domain name of your choice. There are many on the internet, for example look here. For this very reason it would be good not to believe what you see no matter how legitimate it looks.
Source: secnews.gr


