In Microsoft PowerPoint presentations, you can change the background of your slides. You can apply a custom background to all or select slides in your presentation. Here's how.
See also: Microsoft PowerPoint: How to trim a video for a presentation?

Change the background for selected slides in PowerPoint
To use a custom background for only selected slides, first open your presentation with the Microsoft PowerPoint application.
When PowerPoint starts, on the ribbon at the top, click the “View” tab.

On the “View” tab, in the left corner, click “Normal” to view your presentation in normal mode.

From the list of slides on the left of your screen, select the slides you want to use a custom background on. To select multiple slides, hold down Ctrl (Windows) or Command (Mac) while you click the slides.

Once your slides are selected, on the PowerPoint ribbon at the top, click the “Design” tab.

On the “Design” tab, from the “Customize” section, select “Format Background”.

On the right side of the PowerPoint interface, you’ll see a “Format Background” window. Here, in the “Fill” section, you’ll choose a custom background for your slides.
See also: How to convert a PowerPoint presentation to video?
Your options are:
- Solid Fill: To apply a solid color fill to your slides, select this option.
- Gradient Fill: To use a gradient color fill, select this option.
- Picture or Texture Fill: If you want to use a picture or texture as the background of your slides, click this option. You can then select a picture by clicking “Insert” or select a texture by clicking “Texture.”.
- Pattern Fill: To use one of PowerPoint's many textures as a background, select this option.

Your changes will be reflected on your slides in real time. When you are finished configuring your custom background, close the “Format Background” window by clicking the “X” in the upper right corner of the window.

And that's it. Don't forget to save your presentation to preserve your changes.
See also: How to convert a Word document to a PowerPoint presentation
Add a background to all slides in PowerPoint
You can configure a single custom background and apply it to all slides in your current presentation. This saves you a lot of time, as you don't have to manually edit the background of each slide.
To do this, open your presentation in Microsoft PowerPoint. On the application ribbon at the top, click the “Design” tab.

On the “Design” tab, in the “Customize” section, click “Format Background”.

On the right side of your screen, a “Format Background” window will open. In this window, using the “Fill” section, you will specify a background for all of your slides.
The options you can choose from are:
- Solid Fill: Use this option to apply a solid fill to all of your slides.
- Gradient Fill: Select this option to apply a gradient color fill to all of your slides.
- Picture or Texture Fill: To use a picture or texture as a background, click this option. You can then click “Insert” to add an image to use as a background, or click “Texture” to use a texture as the background of your slides.
- Pattern Fill: Click this option to view various patterns that you can use as a background for your presentation.

After you format your background, apply it to all your slides by clicking “Apply to All” at the bottom of the “Format Background” window.

And immediately, all the slides in your presentation will start using the newly set background. Happy presenting!
Information source: howtogeek.com
