HomeSecurityOAuth Security: Remove access to third-party apps

OAuth Security: Remove access to third-party apps

What is OAuth? You've probably given some apps or websites access to your Google, Facebook, Twitter, Dropbox, or Microsoft accounts. For every app you've ever granted access to, you should know that it will continue to have access until you revoke it.OAuth Security OAuth OAuth OAuth OAuth OAuth

In other words, there are probably several other online services that have access to your personal data. So you should regularly check the lists of services connected to the websites you use and remove services that you no longer use.

Why do these third-party services have access to your accounts?

When you use an app or web service that requires access to an account – for example, your Google account, the app generally doesn’t ask you to use a password to access the service. Instead, it uses something called OAuth. If you agree to the prompt, the app gains access to your account and in this way, it does a kind of authentication for you. So the website you want to use, without having to register again, will give you a token that you can use instead of a password to access your account.

When you grant access to an application, you will see a window asking for your permission to allow access to your Google account, for example.

So far, so good. The problem is that it's easy to forget which apps and services have access to your account. You might try an app once and never use it again, or you might have stopped using an app years ago. If you haven't checked your list of approved apps and removed it from there, that app still has access. It's well known, as we've mentioned in other posts, that many apps can use the access they have to collect data without your permission.

Changing your password will not revoke access to these connected apps. Even if you change all your passwords, services that have access to your account will retain access.

So how can you remove access from apps you don't use?

Use the links below

To secure your accounts, you should visit a special page on each website you use to review the list of connected services. If you see a service or app you don't use, revoke access immediately.

To make it easier, we've compiled a list of the most popular websites that use OAuth. Simply click on the link you're interested in to check the list of connected services.

It should be noted that it's not a good idea to click on links that ask to access your Google, Microsoft, Facebook, or Twitter accounts to log in with your password. Phishers can impersonate sites to steal your passwords.

📧
Subscribe to the SecNews Newsletter

The most important Security & Technology news in your Inbox.

SecNews
SecNewshttps://www.secnews.gr
In a world without fences and walls, who needs Gates and Windows

SEARCH

FOLLOW US

📧
Newsletter SecNews
The most important Security & Technology news in your inbox.

LIVE NEWS