A new warning has been issued to Facebook users after new posts appeared promising free UGG boots. The new scam is designed to lure unsuspecting users to a malicious website that hosts browser plugins.
According to Facecrooks, there are several variations of this scam that appeared on the popular social networking site today. One of its variations states: “To celebrate winter, we are giving away free boots to all Facebook users! Sign up now [link].”
Those who fall for the trap and click on the link are taken to a website that prompts them to install a plugin on their browser. If they install it, the criminals behind the scam will have access to victims’ data from all the websites they visit, but they will also be able to manage the applications they have installed on the infected computer.
If you are already a victim of this scam, change your Facebook password immediately, and not just on Facebook. Remove any suspicious applications and plugins installed on your browser.

