The new features we will see on the social network
Facebook is bringing new security features and content sharing options.
Some of these changes have already appeared to users, while others are expected to be gradually integrated in the coming weeks, according to Michael Novak, product manager of the social network.
Among the changes that have already been implemented or will be seen in the near future are the following:
When we "post" something on Facebook today, the menu we choose to whom it will appear looks something like this..
However, now an additional menu displays options such as "To everyone who has Facebook or to those who don't," as seen in the photo below published by the Washington Post.
– Ability to make old timeline photos privateUntil now, timeline photos have been public by default, in the same category as information like name and profile photo. According to the company, this information is used to distinguish one user from another. However, soon, users will be able to hide timeline photos as well.
– Data sharing from friends
What happens when we share something and a friend re-shares it on their own profile? Who can see it? The answer, according to Facebook, is only mutual friends, and in the coming weeks, this will become clearer to users with special warnings in posts, explaining how it works, as noted by the Washington Post.
– New window with privacy settings
Facebook is testing a warning screen that will ask users who haven't checked their privacy settings whether they want their posts to be shared publicly by default, or to their friends.
The warning screen will be accompanied by a sketch of a small dinosaur.
