Last week, the server of the screenshot sharing app, Puush, was hacked and a malware-infected program was deployed as an update for Windows users.
The R94 software version downloads malicious software, which steals the passwords of infected systems. The update has been disabled, and the latest R100 update is available for download, which can inform you whether your system has been infected or not; also this updated version will clean the malicious software.
The company noted that the app version for Windows was affected, while the versions for iOS and OS X apps are safe.
According to a statement released by the company,
“Malicious software can collect stored passwords, but we are not yet able to confirm whether they have been transmitted back to a remote location. We have already run the malicious software in a test environment and it was not able to reproduce a similar behavior. Even so, we recommend that you change any important passwords you have stored on your computer (unless they are in a secure password manager). This includes stored passwords in chrome/ firefox. “
The company has removed it and the cleaning tool is available for users who may have been blocked from the Puush functionality.
“We have created a cleaner for users who do not wish to continue using Ruush. It is standalone and will notify you if your system is infected (assuming you do not already have R100 installed).”


