HomeHow ToSync Photos from Your Smartphone to Facebook

Sync photos from your smartphone to Facebook

Facebook launched a service in December 2012 to directly sync photos from Android and iPhone smartphones for selective sharing or publishing on each member's Timeline. The service provides 2GB of space and allows you to control photo syncing directly from your mobile phone, either via Wi-Fi or a cellular network.

Specifically, the newest version of the Facebook app for Android smartphones as well as for iOS 6 (i.e. iPhone and iPad) allows Facebook members to choose to automatically upload every download they make with their mobile phone.

Facebook

This is the Photo Sync service or Facebook Photosync, for which you will find detailed information on Facebook's help pages at https://www.facebook.com/help/photosync

In short, photos that are synced are not made public on the user's Timeline. The photos are uploaded to a "private section of Facebook photos," the service explains, and are visible only to the user.

Specifically, the user is asked to activate synchronization from the Facebook app on their mobile (Timeline, Photos, Sync). The photos are uploaded to an album in the Photos Timeline, which is called "Synced from mobile".

From there, the user selects photos and selects Create Post to share the selected ones on their Timeline. They can select photos to Send in a message, limiting the posting.

The user can also remove photos synced from their computer from their private album with the following options:

  • Chronology,
  • Photos,
  • Synchronized from the mobile,
  • More,
  • Delete photos

From their mobile phone, the user can choose to delete a photo that has already been synchronized: from the app, they select

  • Chronology,
  • Photos,
  • Synchronized, (tap selection),
  • Remove a synchronized photo.

The service allows you to disable syncing completely, or sync only when the user is connected to Wi-Fi (and possibly without charge) from the Sync Settings. Also, when syncing is allowed via3G and therefore the user is charged, the size of the photos is limited to 100Kbytes per photo. Via Wi-Fi, the size of the photos is larger, but nowhere is it stated that they retain their original size (and therefore the quality of the download).

When the phone's battery level is low, photos do not sync.

in

📧
Subscribe to the SecNews Newsletter

The most important Security & Technology news in your Inbox.

SecNews
SecNewshttps://www.secnews.gr
In a world without fences and walls, who needs Gates and Windows

SEARCH

FOLLOW US

📧
Newsletter SecNews
The most important Security & Technology news in your inbox.

LIVE NEWS