The accounts of deceased users will now be accessible to everyone
After the publicity gained by the heartbreaking video of John Berlin, a father from the US who demanded and ultimately convinced Facebook to view the "Look Back" video with his deceased son's usage history, the platform's executives reviewed what was in place until now regarding the privacy settings of deceased users.
Until now, when a Facebook user died, their account was automatically converted into a "memorial account", allowing access only to friends of the deceased.
As it informs us in a post on its official blog, Facebook, respecting the deceased user's choices regarding privacy settings, will maintain intact the settings that the user had chosen while he or she was alive.
At the same time, Facebook will give relatives the opportunity, with a simple request here, to view the look back video of their deceased loved ones, making, in the same post, special mention of the case of John Berlin, which moved the global online community.
Source: protothema.gr

