HomeUpdatesGoogle Maps: Notifies you when your friends arrive home with...

Google Maps: Notifies you when your friends arrive home safely

A new location sharing feature in the Google Maps app can notify you of the whereabouts of friends who are already sharing their location with you.

Google Maps: Notifies you when your friends arrive home safely

Google Maps' new location sharing feature automates the process of notifying you when a friend or family member arrives or leaves a place, as long as they're already sharing their location with you.

See also: New Google Maps widget shows traffic around your home on your home screen

We'll explain how the new location sharing feature works, how to use it, and when it will be available.

How can you get notifications on Google Maps when friends arrive or leave a location?

Once the new feature is available in the Google Maps app on your iPhone or Android , select your profile icon and tap Location Sharing. Select the person you want to request location notifications from from the list — note that they must already be sharing their location with you. Then, tap Add to add an address for friend . Next, you'll choose a specific location, as well as when you'd like to be notified (arrival or departure), and then tap Save.

The person you requested location notifications from will receive a notification that you've added the location. Once that person leaves or arrives at the designated spot, you'll be notified.

The person will also receive multiple reminders to let them know they are sharing their location alerts, including a push notification in the Maps app and an email, along with recurring monthly emails.

See also: Google Maps: They will calculate tolls for a specific route

google maps

Can I turn off this Google Maps feature if a friend asks to see when I'm arriving or leaving?

Yes. If you receive a notification that someone wants to be notified when you arrive or leave a location, you can choose to turn it off. Start by tapping the notification on your phone's lock screen. Then turn off the switch for Allow recipients to add notifications. Tap Turn off to confirm.

Once you do this, the person will no longer be able to add notifications to let them know when you arrive or leave a specific location. They also won't be notified that you turned this feature.

See also: Google Maps for Android and iOS will show air quality

When can I start using the new location sharing feature in Google Maps?

Starting today, the Google Maps location sharing update is rolling out to Android and iOS. If you don't see it right away, check to make sure you have the latest version of the app. It may also take a few weeks for you to see the new tool.

Information source: cnet.com

📧
Subscribe to the SecNews Newsletter

The most important Security & Technology news in your Inbox.

Teo Ehc
Teo Ehchttps://www.secnews.gr
Be the limited edition.

SEARCH

FOLLOW US

📧
Newsletter SecNews
The most important Security & Technology news in your inbox.

LIVE NEWS