HomeSecurityGoogle Photos app: It keeps collecting photos even after deleting them

Google Photos app: Still collecting photos even after deleting them

Google Photos app: Still collecting photos even after deleting them

Google didn't seem to have a great start with its Google Photos app, which recently appeared to tag a black couple as gorillas. Google apologized, removed the "gorillas" tag entirely, and admitted that its facial recognition feature still needs significant improvement.

But today, a new issue seems to have emerged, spotted by another user. The Google Photos app continues to collect and sync your photos and videos even if you've deleted the app from your phone.

When the app is uninstalled,your files continue to be uploaded to the cloud because instead of using its own settings to determine backups, the app uses Android's main settings menu. So when you install the app, if you choose to automatically upload new photos to the Cloud, your settings will remain even if the Google Photos app is deleted.

Therefore, to avoid syncing photos you need to go to your phone's settings and from there choose what you want to do with Google Photo Backup.

A Google spokesperson says they are aware of the problem and points out that Google will soon make it easy to disable backup when the application is deleted.

Google Photos app: Still collecting photos even after deleting them
When the app is uninstalled, your files continue to be uploaded to the cloud because instead of using its own settings to determine backups, the app uses Android's main settings menu. So when you install the app, if you choose to automatically upload new photos to the Cloud, your settings will remain even if the Google Photos app is deleted.

source: techblog.gr

📧
Subscribe to the SecNews Newsletter

The most important Security & Technology news in your Inbox.

SEARCH

FOLLOW US

📧
Newsletter SecNews
The most important Security & Technology news in your inbox.

LIVE NEWS