Many people think that private browsing in browsers is mainly associated with browsing restricted websites. However, the private browsing feature can be used for many other things.
Private browsing refers to a feature that web browsers to leave minimal traces behind. This means that there is no browsing history and that data is only stored temporarily for the browsing session and then deleted.
It should be noted that private browsing is not 100% anonymous. Internet websites and servers, for example, record your activity, but features of the operating system you are using (such as DNS cache) also record data.
But let's see how you can enable private browsing mode in the browser you use.
- Firefox: Use the keyboard shortcut Ctrl-Shift-P to start a new private browsing window
- Internet Explorer: Same keyboard shortcut Ctrl-Shift-P
- Chrome: Ctrl-Shift-N
- Opera: Uses the same shortcut as Chrome Ctrl-Shift-N.
Where can you use private browsing mode?
1. You can open multiple accounts on the same website
You can connect to the same site or server using different accounts. Because cookies are not stored, you can, for example, log in to two Gmail accounts without being logged out of the service.
2. Check the site as a new user
Cookies are used to allow websites to recognize you. There are of course other means available, such as comparing IP addresses, but most websites do not do this.
This means you can check the contents of a website as a new user, which is very useful if you want to compare prices to make sure you don't pay more.
3. Connecting to a foreign computer
If you need to check your email or other data on a computer that doesn't belong to you, you can use private browsing. The benefit; data accumulated during a session is automatically deleted when you close the private browsing window.
Also, if someone wants to use your computer, which has your browsing history, bookmarks, and accounts saved, it's best to open a private browsing window for them.
4. Gift shopping and surprises
One way to keep your browsing history private is to use private browsing mode. This can be useful if you want to make a surprise purchase, especially from a family computer that uses a single account.
It should be noted that private browsing is not the only option you have for all of the above. You can easily use another browser or even a second profile in the browser you are using. Then, you should set the browser not to remember all the usual information. For example, with this setting you can delete your browsing data when you exit or do it with a tool like CCleaner.
For this reason, private browsing can be very useful, as it is available in every browser.
Source: secnews.gr

